Call Us: (303) 578-8455

Come on Baby Cover Me

24
Oct

Come on Baby Cover Me

Paleo Team Challenge logs are due today!

3×5 squat
3×5 press

then:
3 rounds for time:

Farmer’s walk – 50 m
12 burpees

Read About October Athlete Jasmine Yap

Jasmine Yap
Jasmine Yap

Colorado ski resorts watch out!  Jasmine Yap is coming to a slope near you.  It’s a proven fact that skiers and snowboarders that can do pull-ups become better skiers and snowboarders.  Seeing the progress Jasmine has made in just 2 short months, we’re very excited to get the report on how her CrossFit training transfers to her outside play this winter.
Jasmine and her husband recently moved out west from Boston, Massachusetts.  She now works up the road as a Research Assistant in the Department of Psychology and Neuroscience at CU.
Jasmine is a fantastic addition to the crew.  She is a natural at the barbell lifts and maintains an explosiveness even when the weights get heavy.  We’ve yet to shock Jasmine with a workout, or maybe she’s just really good at hiding it.  Either way, we love her even keel approach and her push at the end of every workout.

Jasmine is at A-basin today.

Jasmine is at A-basin today.

Months CrossFitting?
Two months.
What is your favorite WOD?
Although she’s brutal and she kicked my butt, I liked Barbara.
What is your least favorite WOD?
Anything that involves multiple rounds of 400-meter (or longer) runs.
What is your favorite lift?
Push jerk.
What is your least favorite lift?
Overhead squats.
What do you do for work?  (career)
I’m a Research Associate in the Department of Psychology and Neuroscience at CU.
What sports did you play growing up?
Interestingly, I played basketball as a kid and was on the junior varsity team in high school.  I also grew up doing pentjak silat, an Indonesian martial art.
What is your favorite thing about CrossFit?
Never being bored during a workout.
What is your least favorite thing about CrossFit?
Having ripped up hands from workouts with tons of pull-ups.
Do you have any goals in CrossFit?
I’d like to eventually do pull-ups with no bands.  Handstand push-ups would be pretty cool, too.
What are your hobbies/talents?
I love snowboarding.  It’s probably my favorite thing to do.  I also sing with a local choir, the Rocky Mountain Chorale and have belonged to various singing groups since I was about 11.
Where were you born/raised?
Born and raised in Jersey City, NJ.  My family is from the Philippines.
Any weird/interesting things about you?
I am deathly afraid of clowns.  They’re creepy.  (Sorry if any of you moonlight as a clown).
Anything you’d like to add?
I really enjoy the efficiency and variety of exercises with CrossFit.  I also think the Foundations Course is a great way to get started.